The History of Rock 'n' Roll in ten Songs [Audiobook] download free by Henry Rollins

The History of Rock 'n' Roll in ten Songs Audiobook download free by Henry Rollins
  • Listen audiobook: The History of Rock 'n' Roll in ten Songs
  • Author: Henry Rollins
  • Release date: 2016/6/9
  • Language: English
  • Genre or Collection: Audiobooks
  • ISBN: 9781522661276
  • Rating: 9.49 of 10
  • Votes: 136
  • Review by: Brooklyn Cobbs
  • Review rating: 7.89 of 10
  • Review Date: 2018/11/1
  • Duration: 2H19M57S in 256 kbps (37.6 MB)
  • Date of creation of the audiobook: 2018-08-06
  • You can listen to this audiobook in formats: WAV, FLAC, AC3, WMA, MP3, MPEG4, OGG, WMA Lossless (compression TAR, LZ, RAR, ZIP)
  • Total pages original book: 188
  • Includes a PDF summary of 21 pages
  • Duration of the summary (audio): 15M18S (4.2 MB)
  • Description or summary of the audiobook: Unlike all previous versions of rock 'n' roll history, this book omits almost every iconic performer and ignores the storied events and turning points everyone knows. Instead, in a daring stroke, Greil Marcus selects 10 songs recorded between 1956 and 2008 and then proceeds to dramatize how each embodies rock 'n' roll as a thing in itself in the story it tells, inhabits, and acts out-a new language, something new under the sun. 'Transmission' by Joy Division. 'All I Could Do Was Cry' by Etta James and then Beyoncé. 'To Know Him Is to Love Him,' first by the Teddy Bears and almost half a century later by Amy Winehouse. In Marcus' hands these and other songs tell the story of the music, which is, at bottom, the story of the desire for freedom in all its unruly and liberating glory. Slipping the constraints of chronology, Marcus braids together past and present, holding up to the light the ways these striking songs fall through time and circumstance, gaining momentum and meaning, astonishing us by upending our presumptions and prejudices. This audiobook, by a founder of contemporary rock criticism-and its most gifted and incisive practitioner-is destined to become an enduring classic.
  • Other categories, genre or collection: Rock & Pop Music, Music Reviews & Criticism, Soul & R 'n' B
  • Download servers: Hotfile, BitShare, Mediafire, Dropbox, MEGA, Torrent, Racaty, FileServe, X Cloud, Zippyshare. Compressed in TAR, LZ, RAR, ZIP
  • Format: Cd-Audio
  • Approximate value: 7.13 USD
  • Dimensions: 133x171x13mm
  • Weight: 68.04g
  • Printed by: Not Available
  • Published in: Not Available

Download audiobook in:

Option 1

Option 2

Option 3

Option 4

Option 5


More audiobooks in language English

More audiobooks of the genre or collection Audiobooks

More audiobooks of 2016